Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Let’s Talk Cannabis

We’re here to help you start dialogues about what legalized cannabis will mean in your community.

Changing times

The Canadian government has announced its intention to introduce legislation to legalize and regulate cannabis by the summer of 2018. Even though cannabis use has been relatively common in Canada, its legalization represents a major shift in public policy that can be expected to have a broad impact on Canadians.

A new partnership

Communities across Canada have expressed divergent opinions and concerns about legalized cannabis. A national partnership was formed to help communities create spaces where people can come together and build understanding of — not necessarily agreement with — each other, of themselves and of the subject. With this new understanding, community members will be able to work together more effectively.

Led by the Canadian Institute for Substance Use Research, the partnership includes the Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction, the British Columbia Ministry of Health, Alberta Health Services, the Saskatchewan Ministry of Health, the Thunderbird Partnership Foundation, and the Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Health and Community Services. The partnership is supported with funding from Health Canada’s Substance Use and Addictions Program.

Promoting dialogue

Interested in starting a dialogue in your community? The partnership has developed a variety of resources to support community conversations about cannabis. Check out the tools below that your community can use to get the conversation about cannabis started. Check back often, as we will be adding to these resources.

Table 1: List of Resources for Understanding Dialogue

ItemDescription
Understanding Dialogue Dialogue is often confused with other forms of communication such as discussion or debate. Use this document as a foundation for understanding the specifics of dialogue.
Principles of Dialogue The principles of dialogue help create safe spaces where we can collectively explore the different perspectives in our communities. Use this document as a brief overview of the principles.
The Art of Listening Listening, a key element in dialogue, is more than hearing words. Use this document as a guide (or handout) on attentive listening.
The Challenge of Empathy Practicing empathy is essential as it helps us connect and understand each other better. Use this document as background (or handout) on the concept of empathy.
Asking Good Questions Asking good questions is an important element of dialogue. Use this document to develop better questions that encourage deeper exploration.
Four Dimensions of Dialogue Dialogue often involves a progression through various stages of intensity. Use this document to learn about the four different dimensions in which dialogue can occur.


Table 2: List of Resources for Facilitating Dialogue

ItemDescription
A Guide to Nurturing Community Dialogue Planning dialogue is more than a process or methodology, it is an art. Use this document as a guide to planning community dialogue.
10 Common Tools for Dialogue Nurturing dialogue can take many forms. Use this list to stimulate thinking on how to nurture dialogue in your community.
Conversation Café Conversation Cafés are open conversations in coffee shops or any other publicly accessed community setting, including restaurants, conference rooms, churches or more. Use this guide to learn how to facilitate your own Conversation Café.
Photovoice Photovoice is a participatory research method. Use this guide to learn how to adapt the methodology to encourage community dialogue.
Walking Tours Walking tours are creative ways for participants to engage with different perspectives while touring a particular setting. Use this guide to learn how to facilitate your own tour.


Partner organizations have supplied the resources on this page. CCSA cannot vouch for the accuracy or currency of the information in these resources. Inclusion of a resource on this page does not imply endorsement or authorization by CCSA.

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Parlons de cannabis

Nous sommes là pour vous aider à entamer un dialogue sur le cannabis légalisé et ses implications pour votre collectivité.

Des temps nouveaux

Le gouvernement canadien a annoncé son intention de déposer un projet de loi sur la légalisation et la réglementation du cannabis d’ici l’été 2018. L’usage de cannabis est certes relativement courant au Canada, mais il reste que sa légalisation constitue un tournant décisif de la politique publique qui devrait avoir de vastes répercussions sur la population canadienne.

Un nouveau partenariat

La légalisation du cannabis est source d’inquiétudes et d’opinions divergentes dans les différentes collectivités au pays. C’est pourquoi un partenariat national a été mis sur pied pour aider les collectivités à aménager des espaces où les gens peuvent se réunir, se renseigner sur le sujet et mieux se comprendre, sans nécessairement s’entendre sur tous les points. Forts de ces échanges, les membres des collectivités seront à même de collaborer plus efficacement.

Piloté par l’Institut canadien de recherche sur l’usage de substances, le partenariat regroupe le Centre canadien sur les dépendances et l’usage de substances, le ministère de la Santé de la Colombie-Britannique et de la Saskatchewan, les Services de santé de l’Alberta, la Thunderbird Partnership Foundation et le ministère de la Santé et des Services communautaires de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Le partenariat est financé par le Programme sur l’usage et les dépendances aux substances de Santé Canada.

Promouvoir le dialogue

Vous aimeriez engager un dialogue dans votre collectivité? Les membres du partenariat ont créé une foule de ressources pour aider les collectivités à parler du cannabis. Les outils énumérés ci-dessous sont de bons points de départ pour amorcer une conversation sur le cannabis dans votre collectivité. Comme nous ajouterons constamment des documents à cette page, nous vous invitons à la consulter souvent.

Tableau 1 : liste de documents pour comprendre le dialogue

DocumentDescription
Comprendre le dialogueLe dialogue est souvent confondu avec d’autres formes de communication, comme la discussion ou le débat. Se servir de ce document comme point de départ pour comprendre les particularités du dialogue.
Principes de dialogueLes principes du dialogue nous aident à créer des espaces sécuritaires où nous pouvons examiner ensemble les points de vue différents de notre communauté. Ce document résume brièvement les principes.
L’art d’écouterÉlément essentiel au dialogue, l’écoute ne se limite pas au fait d’entendre des mots. Guide sur l’écoute attentive, ce document peut aussi être distribué.
Le défi de l’empathieLa pratique de l’empathie est essentielle, car elle nous aide à nous connecter et à mieux nous comprendre. Il s’agit ici d’un document de base (ou à distribuer) sur le concept de l’empathie.
Poser des bonnes questionsPoser des questions est un élément important du dialogue. Se servir de ce document pour préparer de meilleures questions propices à une réflexion plus poussée.
Quatre dimensions du dialogueLe dialogue implique souvent une progression à travers des étapes d’intensité diverse. Ce document présente de l’information sur les quatre dimensions dans laquelle se produit le dialogue.


Tableau 2 : liste de documents pour faciliter le dialogue

DocumentDescription
Un Guide pour faciliter le dialogue en communautéPlanifier le dialogue est plus qu’un processus ou une méthodologie, c’est un art. Ce document est un guide à la planification d’un dialogue en communauté.
10 outils communs pour promouvoir le dialogueIl existe plusieurs façons d’instaurer un dialogue. Cette liste permet de stimuler la réflexion sur la façon de nourrir le dialogue dans votre collectivité.
Conversations de caféLes conversations de café sont des conversations ouvertes dans des cafés ou tout autre milieu communautaire accessible au public, y compris les restaurants, salles de conférence, les églises ou autre. Ce document explique comment animer sa propre conversation de café.
PhotovoicePhotovoice est une méthode de recherche participative. Ce document explique comment adapter la méthodologie pour favoriser le dialogue en communauté.
Visites guidéesLes visites guidées sont une façon créative pour les participants de s’engager avec différentes perspectives alors qu’ils visitent un endroit particulier. Ce document explique comment animer sa propre visite guidée.


Les ressources affichées sur cette page ont été fournies par des organismes partenaires. Le CCDUS ne peut donc garantir que l’information contenue est exacte ou à jour. L’ajout d’une ressource ne sous-entend en aucun cas son approbation ou autorisation par le CCDUS.